Hemp Industry association VS the Drug Enforcement Agency

Posted by Wiki on Feb 1st 2021

Hemp Industry association VS the Drug Enforcement Agency

On October 9, 2001, the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) posted an interpretive rule on its website declaring that all hempseed products containing any traces of THC would be considered seizable contraband, effectively criminalizing all hempseed products in the US.[9] After a period of public comment, the DEA filed the final proposed rule in the federal register on March 21, 2003. One week later, the HIA joined with the Organic Consumers Association and several companies which used hempseed in one or more products to file suit against the DEA rule going into effect.[10]

On February 6, 2004, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled unanimously for the HIA, opining that the DEA did not have the authority under the federal Controlled Substances Act to ban an otherwise legal product because it might have traces of THC.[11] On September 28, 2004, the Supreme Court of the United States declined to hear the appeal, allowing the Ninth Circuit decision to stand.[12] The settlement between HIA and DEA was finally reached on May 25, 2018, in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.[13]

FDA Disclaimer:The statements made regarding these products have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The efficacy of these products has not been confirmed by FDA-approved research. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. All information presented here is not meant as a substitute for or alternative to information from health care practitioners. Please consult your health care professional about potential interactions or other possible complications before using any product.

THCa Disclaimer: We do not ship THCa products to the following states where THCa is restricted or illegal: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington.